Please Help Me Decide On A Mixer!!

Decorating By tguegirl Updated 7 Dec 2009 , 8:43pm by HowCoolGomo1

tguegirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tguegirl Posted 7 Dec 2009 , 6:09pm
post #1 of 21

Hey guys,
I would really like some help deciding what mixer to buy. I bought a KA from Costco in the Nickel: 5 qt, 475 power mixer from the professional series. However, after reading some reviews on CC, I'm thinking of returning it (haven't opened the box!) and getting the Pro 600 6 qt, in meringue since it's on sale for basically the same price. I'm a hobby baker only, but am making some big cakes and really want it to handle double batches of WASC and batches of marshmallow fondant.
What do you guys think? My thoughts are: the Pro 600 handles more batter, has a better motor and, surprisingly, is more compact in terms of its dimensions than the Costco one. The Costco one, however, is in a nicer color.

Any thoughts?

Here's the link: http://www.costco.com/Browse/Productgroup.aspx?Prodid=10043022&search=kitchenaid&topnav=&Mo=0&cm_re=1_en-_-Top_Left_Nav-_-Top_search&lang=en-US&Nr=P_CatalogName:BC&N=5000043&whse=BC&Dx=mode%20matchallpartial&Ntk=Text_Search&Dr=P_CatalogName:BC&Ne=4000000&D=kitchenaid&Ntt=kitchenaid&No=0&Nty=1&Ntx=mode%20matchallpartial

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0002Y5X9M/?tag=cakecentral-20

20 replies
Mike1394 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mike1394 Posted 7 Dec 2009 , 6:13pm
post #2 of 21

I think they are both junk, get a Viking.

Mike

JustToEatCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JustToEatCake Posted 7 Dec 2009 , 6:14pm
post #3 of 21

I can't tell you exactly about those machines but I can tell you that I just rec'd my first KA a little over a week ago and it's the Artisan. My kitchen isn't large enough for the bigger mixers but this mixer had absolutely no problems with double the recipe of WASC and it's a 5qt bowl.

Becky52 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Becky52 Posted 7 Dec 2009 , 6:16pm
post #4 of 21