Carrot Cake Cupcake Calamity

Decorating By chyana66 Updated 8 Dec 2009 , 7:49am by kimmypooh79

chyana66 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chyana66 Posted 25 Nov 2009 , 7:56pm
post #1 of 6

Ok, so I've been baking cakes for about 3 years now and most of my orders are for white, pound or chocolate cake. Last year I made some carrot cake cupcakes for a customer's cupcake cake and they turned out great. This year, the same customer order the same cake (4 year old wanted the same cake lol) so I'm thinking...excellent! Easy peasy!

Well, the other night I made the first batch of what I thought was the same recipe for carrot cake cupcakes I had used last year and they were a disaster. They foamed right up and overflowed the cups and then flattenned out and were simply a mess. So in the trash they go. Thinking I must have measured wrong (ok, it happens lol), I redid the same recipe and AGAIN, they formed right up, overflowed the cups and then flattened right out. Well, I had had enough that night so I put everything away and figured I'd try again the next night after I calmed down.

So, the next night I looked thru a couple of books and found another recipe for carrot cake which was very similar to the first - well how many different ways can you make carrot cake anyway? - except whereas the first recipe had called for 1 tsp of baking soda AND 1 tsp of baking powder, this one called for 2 tsp of baking soda only. Most of the other measurements were the same, even the WBH recipe was almost identical. So off I go grating carrots again and making sure I measured everything EXACTLY, and I put it in the oven and it looks to be doing fine until about half way thru when THE SAME THING HAPPENNED!!??

Any ideas? Maybe my baking soda is bad?? Does that happen?

Many thanks for any suggestions...

The frustrated carrot cake wrecker.

5 replies
cownsj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cownsj Posted 26 Nov 2009 , 12:06am
post #2 of 6