Red Velvet Cake - Advice Needed

Baking By Meg147 Updated 13 Nov 2009 , 9:50am by Meg147

Meg147 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Meg147 Posted 9 Nov 2009 , 3:26pm
post #1 of 7

I have been asked if the RVC can be made more 'choclatey'! Being a newbie, I tend to do exactly as it says on the tin! Would adding, say an extra tablespoon of cocoa affect the texture? And I've scoured the internet and found that some use beet or red wine vinegar for colouring - I wouldn't be keen on using either, but what about red wine - or is this too heavy? icon_confused.gif

6 replies
SuzyNoQ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SuzyNoQ Posted 9 Nov 2009 , 3:39pm
post #2 of 7

If I am not mistaken I read somewhere that red velvet is colored german chocolate, I personally would do a wasc (possibly replace the sour cream with german chocolate pudding) and if it affects the color too much some red coloring as well.

AngelFood4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AngelFood4 Posted 11 Nov 2009 , 5:29pm
post #3 of 7

I'm still trying to figure out this whole RV thing and have done so much baking over the last month trying and experimenting with all the different scratch RV recipes. I love chocolate cake but RV has it's own distinct flavor and so many people think RV is a chocolate cake when it isn't.

If you add more cocoa, it will make it chocolatier but also darker so you'll have to add extra red coloring to it as well. I have not noticed it changing the texture but definitely the color is darker and deeper (almost brown).

Here's a Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet that I tried this past weekend. Very moist and chocolatey plus a little denser and worked perfectly as a layer cake and cupcakes (my favorite so far). If the link doesn't work, try RecipeZaar and search #8972 (http://www.recipezaar.com/Waldorf-Astoria-Red-Velvet-Cake-8972).

There are a couple posts on here doctoring up a Duncan Hines Red Velvet mix and adding chocolate pudding to it too: