Making Figures

Decorating By cookiecutters Updated 15 Nov 2009 , 6:30pm by CakesByAdriana

cookiecutters Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cookiecutters Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 8:53pm
post #1 of 13

I am new to making figures and the Wilton fondant I am using is not working out. I added gum tex to it and now that I am trying to roll into balls it has spots that won't knead together. I have added Crisco because I, as some of you suggested, I thought it was too dry. It just keeps getting worse. Can I make the figures out of MMF and do I add gum tex to that as well?

12 replies
2SchnauzerLady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2SchnauzerLady Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 9:05pm
post #2 of 13

Another cc'er, Loucinda, told me to nuke the fondant for a few seconds and it should mold together because I was having the same problem. I am getting ready to try it out this weekend.

underthesun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
underthesun Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 11:04pm
post #3 of 13

What was not working out with the wilton fondant??

cookiecutters Posted 6 Nov 2009 , 12:02am
post #4 of 13

The Wilton fondant with gum tex added was just splitting apart when I tried to roll it into a ball. I couldn't get a smooth ball without cracks in it and I kneaded in extra Crisco and it still didn't help.

underthesun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
underthesun Posted 6 Nov 2009 , 12:56am
post #5 of 13

I wonder if you might have added too much gumtex. Or maybe the fondant was really old. I know we have a small walmart here and wilton products can get very old sitting on the shelves.