Cake Boards

Decorating By chasley101 Updated 8 Nov 2009 , 3:27am by chasley101

chasley101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chasley101 Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 5:03pm
post #1 of 10

How do you cover your cake boards?

Do you use traditional cake board paper? Do you use wax paper? Do you always use fondant?

I don't know the best way to cover my cake boards. I just buy the cheap cardboard ones found at hobbylobby.

9 replies
greeneyegirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
greeneyegirl Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 1:48am
post #2 of 10

I am relatively new to this cake decorating thing but I cover mine with the traditional cake board paper. I would love to know how to cover it in fondant.....I mean I know how to cover it, but how do you make it stay on the board?

milkmaid42 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
milkmaid42 Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 4:02am
post #3 of 10

I like to use 1/2" foam core for the stability it affords. Smear the surface with piping gel, lay on fondant and cut the edge flush. Let dry so it doesn't get fingerprints or distorted then wrap the edge with appropriate ribbon, secured with a glue stick or gel. I usually do this a couple of days in advance. HTH.

jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 4:18am
post #4 of 10

I cover mine in freezer paper.

Brendabeeper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brendabeeper Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 4:38am
post #5 of 10