Frozen Buttercream Transfers - Advice Please!

Decorating By Tiara13 Updated 20 Nov 2009 , 4:42am by dstbni

Tiara13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tiara13 Posted 27 Oct 2009 , 2:53am
post #1 of 10

Hi! I could really use some help - I'm making a Detroit Red Wings cake, and would like to try the frozen buttercream transfer method. I've never tried this before, and I only found one tutorial on here that helped at all. If you have tried this before and have any advice, I would really, really appreciate it. By the way, I live in a small town, and therefore only have access to Wilton and homemade products.

Thanks!!!

9 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 27 Oct 2009 , 2:57am
post #2 of 10

This is seriously one of the easiest decoration techniques out there. Make sure the image you are tracing over is a mirror image. I do mine on a metal cookie sheet. I have the picture with the acetate (you can buy overhead projector sheets for this, or parchment paper works, too) taped down to the cookie sheet. Then I can just pop the whole cookie sheet into the freezer. I do the outline and then pop into the freezer for about 5-10 minutes. Then I do one color at a time, freezing for a few minutes in between. If you want the image flush with the top of the cake, when you do the background coat, also fill in around the image to the size of the top of your cake with the background icing. Good Luck!

cookie_fun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cookie_fun Posted 27 Oct 2009 , 3:12am
post #3 of 10

My only advice is to make sure your frosting is a crusting BC. I tried it once with a noncrusting and I couldn't get the image off the wax paper.

Like Pterrell said, it's very easy, and it's exciting the first time you do it right and get it on the cake!

Oh! The other thing I would say is when you are applying it to the cake, work quickly because if you let it melt too much it can stick to the wax or parchment paper too.