Securing Gumpaste Flowers To Cake? Leave On Wire, Yes/no?

Decorating By springlakecake Updated 28 Oct 2009 , 10:25pm by leah_s

springlakecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
springlakecake Posted 24 Oct 2009 , 12:08pm
post #1 of 11

I will be making a tropical themed cake and have committed myself to making some gumpaste flowers for it. I have little experience with gumpaste flowers! I'll be making hibiscus, calla, and some plumeria. Anyway do I leave the flowers on the wires and stick them into something and then into the cake? Or should I clip the wires off and just set them onto the cake? I am planning to put them in little bunches on top of the cake and on top of the tiers (not to the sides of the cake). Like for example the way my avatar has the bows...except pretend they are flowers. This is new for me...I have no idea. thanks

10 replies
Sweet_Guys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweet_Guys Posted 24 Oct 2009 , 12:22pm
post #2 of 11

One idea I got from Nicholas Lodge was to put a straw into your cake at the angle you wanted and then stick the flowers into the straw. In essence, the wire is now not touching the cake.

Paul

springlakecake Posted 24 Oct 2009 , 12:26pm
post #3 of 11

that is kind of what I was thinking...thanks

Lita829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lita829 Posted 24 Oct 2009 , 12:48pm
post #4 of 11

I posted a similar question about 3 weeks ago. I was advised by different CCers that some people use straws, flower spikes, or dip the wires in chocolate (and allowing it to harden) before inserting them in the cake. I decided to try the chocolate method and it worked well.

Just passing it on icon_smile.gif
HTH

JenniferMI Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JenniferMI Posted 24 Oct 2009 , 8:30pm
post #5 of 11

I tend to hand wire, which means twist them together like a corsage. Make sure all wires are covered with floral tape. This method, they can pickup the arrangement all in one piece and save it.

Jen icon_smile.gif