Help? ~ Getting Large Cakes On Top Of Eachother W/o Breakage

Decorating By sweettooth622 Updated 22 Oct 2009 , 2:29am by zdebssweetsj

sweettooth622 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettooth622 Posted 21 Oct 2009 , 11:05pm
post #1 of 10

Hi, I am new to cake making and so far have only made cakes for my son's birthday and couple more for friends. I recently baked a 16 x16 square double layer....my biggest cake to date....and ran into a little snag when I went to put the top layer onto the other already frosted layer. Usually I take the cake out of the oven and flip it onto a cooling rack, then when it's cooled I flip it back over and level it out. Then it gets flipped again for the crumb coat because then the exposed cake is on the bottom and the most level side of the cake is facing up. This works because I've got either the cooling rack or the cake board underneath for support, but I can't use that method in getting the 2nd layer on top of another cake.
Help?
It took two us and we tried sliding the cake off a piece of foam core onto the other cake and it still almost broke in half. icon_redface.gif Good thing frosting covers mistakes like that!
Anyway, my question is....is there a trick that I don't know of, or a tool of some kind that I don't have, for getting the top layer on in ONE piece?
I appreciate any help anyone might have.

9 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 21 Oct 2009 , 11:08pm
post #2 of 10

A large cookie sheet with no edge will work. Spray it first with nonstick spray. You could also use foamcore wrapped in press and seal wrap, but the cookie sheet would probably work better.

TheBlonde Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheBlonde Posted 21 Oct 2009 , 11:09pm
post #3 of 10

yup it's called a baker's blade and it's amazing. I now have no problems are all moving my layers...

http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?id=F5E44F60-423B-522D-F605DA5FD1C1079F&fid=F5E44F6F-423B-522D-FDD110DDBA295A4A