I'm Freaking Out

Decorating By laurs_1981 Updated 17 Oct 2009 , 2:27am by Texas_Rose

laurs_1981 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
laurs_1981 Posted 17 Oct 2009 , 1:13am
post #1 of 8

hi there....i'm pretty new to this whole baking/cake thing...i'm REALLY enjoying it and have just started doing it cause my job stresses me out and i needed a hobby!!!....i've done a few cakes and cookies here and there (lots of bachelorettes)..but i keep offering to make cakes and cookies for people, and each time i feel that i have to out-do myself....i lay in bed at night designing and freaking out how i'm going to pull them off!!!!....this is supposed to be fun, and i honestly do enjoy it so much, but i have so much to learn....any advice for a newbie who just wants to be the best right away?....i'm panicking at the 2 orders i have coming up in the next week..... icon_cry.gif

7 replies
amberkw Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amberkw Posted 17 Oct 2009 , 1:29am
post #2 of 8

Hmmm. Sounds oh so familiar! I am so the same way. YOu need to watch a talk on video that Melvira posted a week or so ago. I dont know how to link it so I will see if I can find it for you. Don't stress. If they are asking you to make the cake, its because they like what you can do, and they probably can't make cakes. It will look great in their eyes. The other thing I remind myself, it will be eaten & gone in a matter of minutes. What are your orders for?

catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 17 Oct 2009 , 1:34am
post #3 of 8

The one thing I have learned as a decorator and a party planner...even if you make mistakes chances are good no one will notice. It has to be a HUGE mess up to get people to take notice.