How Did They Do This?!?!

Decorating By emiyeric Updated 9 Oct 2009 , 11:21pm by emiyeric

emiyeric Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emiyeric Posted 9 Oct 2009 , 12:12am
post #1 of 11

Hey guys! I'm going to try to post this picture here in a minute, but in case it doesn't work, it's one of the "most saved" cakes of the day ... "Waves of love" or something along those lines, the sea-themed cake by Ashley Howard with the sea horses at the top. How, oh HOW, did she do the foam effect at the tip of her waves? I'm assuming the very tips are globs piped on and sprinkled with sugar, but the "back" of the foam looks like it might be spread or "dragged" onto the fondant wave? ... I'm not experienced enough to figure it out, but I LOVE it! And it says it's by Ashley Howard, but it doesn't say who actually posted the pic, so I don't know how to contact the artist to ask.

Thanks for any insight you might have! Let's see if I can post this thing ..[/img]

10 replies
emiyeric Posted 9 Oct 2009 , 12:13am
post #2 of 11

Okay, I'm a tehcnological fiasco .... here's the link. I LOVE this cake!!!

Thanks!

-Emi.

letsgetcaking Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
letsgetcaking Posted 9 Oct 2009 , 12:20am
post #3 of 11

Is this the one? I don't know how it was done, but I'd love to learn, too!
LL

CelebrationCakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CelebrationCakery Posted 9 Oct 2009 , 12:23am
post #4 of 11

It looks like royal icing to me...like it it piped on so it looks "fluffy" and then sprinkled with edible glitter...I hope the person that made it can help out....it sure is beautiful

CelebrationCakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CelebrationCakery Posted 9 Oct 2009 , 12:25am
post #5 of 11

Oh...I forgot to add that I think each wave is an individual wave of marbled fondant and then dried and then the royal icing "fluffy" part added.....I wonder???

emiyeric Posted 9 Oct 2009 , 3:54am
post #6 of 11