Gelatin Butterflies (A Little Long Review)

Decorating By bakery_chick Updated 16 Jan 2011 , 1:09am by ramsaymo

bakery_chick Posted 28 Sep 2009 , 3:12pm
post #1 of 12

So I had the opportunity to meet Michaelle Stidham at Cake Camp, and I bought the book and the transfer sheets to make the gelatin flowers and butterflies. I was so anxious to play with my new toys that I just made some quick butterflies. Mind you I had very little time to work with this stuff. It was my first time, and I had absolutely no time to add the extra flourishes that really make these butterflies look amazing. That being said, these are AWESOME!!!! I think they look good without the extra work. They were really, really easy and pretty forgiving. How many mistakes did I make... I way overheated the gelatin. It almost boiled out of the pyrex. You can see some air bubbles in the wings. If you take your time, you can get rid of those. I had let the gelatin get a little too cool when I started painting. It was "goopyer" than when Michaelle did them. I forgot to brush egg white on one of my wires and the body fell off. I just stuck him in the buttercream. After all that, I was still pleased with they turn out. My client loved her cake. I highly recommend these. They are just so much fun. Can't wait to take my time with them!
My cake:
LL

11 replies
Auryn Posted 28 Sep 2009 , 3:41pm
post #2 of 12

oohhh wow
those are super pretty.
Does she have a website for her supplies??

If you hadn't mentioned all your oops noone would know, knowing I still can't tell that they arent perfect.

bakery_chick Posted 28 Sep 2009 , 3:44pm
post #3 of 12

Her supplies are sold on several website but www.cakeconnection.com is the most direct.

Loucinda Posted 28 Sep 2009 , 3:48pm
post #4 of 12

Here is a link to the posts on how to do the butterflies/bows/flowers out of gelatin - they are gorgrous!!

Nice job bakerychick!

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-630413.html

Rylan Posted 28 Sep 2009 , 7:23pm