Last Minute Wedding Cake Help....

Decorating By Megabot Updated 17 Sep 2009 , 6:11am by Melchas

Megabot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Megabot Posted 17 Sep 2009 , 4:39am
post #1 of 8

Ok so I tried out the recipe I'm going to use (WASC) and it was really good. I'm still unsure of how early I can cover the cakes with fondant though because after they are covered they cant go in the fridge/freezer and I was planning on using buttercream and raspberry filling. Help on timing would be appreciated. How early do you cover with fondant and decorate prior to a event. The wedding is on a Sat. but I have to deliver the cake Fri. sometime.

7 replies
my_4_dumplins Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
my_4_dumplins Posted 17 Sep 2009 , 4:45am
post #2 of 8

Im new to this too, but a friend of mine who owns her own shop told me this: bake on wednesday and crumb coat, cover with fondant on Thursday, do finishing touches on Friday. HTH

tinygoose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tinygoose Posted 17 Sep 2009 , 5:03am
post #3 of 8

If you are using Satin Ice you can put it in the fridge, just don't touch the fondant after you take it out until the condensation is gone. If you do it will leave fingerprints. I didn't know this until recently, and have refriderated all my fondant cakes (I use Satin Ice) from here on out. Even SI chocolate fondant and airbrush SI doest just fine.

There is one other, maybe Michelle Foster homemade fondant I heard does well, but I don't remember if it was her's or not, but I think it was.

catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 17 Sep 2009 , 5:16am
post #4 of 8

I have also refridgerated fondant with no issues. You just have to make sure it has time to come up to room temperature (and let the condensation evaporate) before your presentation.

Melchas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Melchas Posted 17 Sep 2009 , 5:27am
post #5 of 8

I recently did an experimaent with BC and MMF the fridge and the freezer.