Urgently Need Help With A Butterfly Cake!!!

Decorating By NickysSweetCreations Updated 19 Sep 2009 , 10:44pm by NickysSweetCreations

NickysSweetCreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NickysSweetCreations Posted 12 Sep 2009 , 1:44am
post #1 of 7

Ok I really need help! Im doing a cake for a little girls 1st birthday.

My original plan was for a two tier cake and a small cake shaped like a butterfly well the pan I had ordered for the butterfly is WAY to big and now I dont know what to do I still want to keep this plan.

Im new to making cakes and I havent taken any classes so I need a quick and easy way to make the cake.
PLEASE HELP!!

6 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 12 Sep 2009 , 1:48am
post #2 of 7

What about making a butterfly from two regular cupcakes, two mini cupcakes, and a piece of what you leveled off of the bigger cake, to be the center part? The regular cupcakes would be the upper wings, the minis would be the smaller bottom wings.

Brendabeeper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brendabeeper Posted 12 Sep 2009 , 2:24am
post #3 of 7

I took a piece of paper and cut out the shape of the wings I wanted, I layed it on top of a 1/2 sheet cake and cut out my butterfly I wanted . You could do this for any size butterfly. I took a cut out piece for the middle. ( I was a bit scared at first, my butterfly cake was Big, and I had not cut out a cake before .) **frosting can cover most mistakes ***

did well expecially since one part of the wing fell and I had to put pieces together to build it back up . see photo
LL

Skirt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Skirt Posted 12 Sep 2009 , 2:46am
post #4 of 7

You can do a butterfly like this! It can be as big or as small as you want it since the 4 pieces are just a round cake cut up. 6", 8", 12" round, it doesn't matter!
http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1170094