Drying Time Question

Baking By cookiescookies Updated 11 Sep 2009 , 4:21am by emlashlee

cookiescookies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cookiescookies Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 5:06am
post #1 of 11

I know this has probably been discussed several times before, but for some reason I can never find threads in the forums using the search function.

How long do you generally let cookies dry between flooding the base and adding additional colours? I read an article on cakecentral that said you should wait at least 18 hours...i've never let mine dry that long before writing and decorating, but I'm pretty new to this. I'm planning a couple of cookie projects and want to ensure the colours don't bleed.

Thanks! (and sorry for the repeat)

10 replies
Elise87 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elise87 Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 10:25am
post #2 of 11

18 hours is for like the whole cookie to dry when it's finished before you can package etc. When i flood a cookie and want to flood more on top of that i usually wait maybe 1 to 2 hours to make sure it has a nice firm well crusted surface so the piping on top of it won't bleed into it, but that time may vary from person to person or the temp that your working in

HTH

antonia74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
antonia74 Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 3:31pm
post #3 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookiescookies

I read an article on cakecentral that said you should wait at least 18 hours...i've never let mine dry that long before writing and decorating, but I'm pretty new to this.

I think you mean the one I wrote? I had to write an article that would cover logistics for every size of cookie someone might be icing and all the different temperatures/humidities of regions out there in cyberspace.