Gumpaste Hell...

Decorating By Caike Updated 7 Sep 2009 , 3:36pm by Caike

Caike Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caike Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 1:57am
post #1 of 19

Well once again (LOL), I may have bitten off more then I can chew as a newbie. The cake I'm making for the fair is due this Wednesday night (or Thursday morning if I can't finish). I think I've decided on the theme - simple, 3 tier, white fondant (plain), with dark green, orange, and red leaves/accents for fall. And then a ribbon on the bottom of the three tiers that compliments the colors in the leaves etc.

Perhaps I should have thought about this before - but I've never done gum paste flowers or leaves before. None the less I bought the Wilton flower/leaf making kit, and the gum paste forming tool kit. I had wanted it for a while because I wanted to dabble into gum paste and this seemed like the perfect opportunity.

Ok keep in mind my delivery date, and the fact I'm still trying to work out recipes - and the fact that this is supposed to be for a fair and on public display. I've attached the pics from tonight here. Making these was literally hell. The gum paste was stick (stuck to everything), it dried out super fast - so when I went to roll out the remainder after making a few leaves it was super dry and hard to work with. I tried using flour to get it not to stick, that just made the leaves look coated/powdery - and the color looks so dulled now. Can I fix? Is it too late? How can I make my life a bit easier or can I? Those flowers alone must've taken me over an hour.

This is not at all what I had envisioned. TIA for any help/advice you guys can give me.
LL
LL
LL

18 replies
lcubed83 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lcubed83 Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 2:19am
post #2 of 19

1. Did you use premade gumpaste, or make your own? I have only used the premade, mixed with fondant or on its own. I use just a bit of cornstarch on the surface and roller. Mixed with fondant extends the working time.