What Do I Need To Do To Make This Cake?

Decorating By mrs_smith Updated 3 Sep 2009 , 4:33am by madgeowens

mrs_smith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrs_smith Posted 2 Sep 2009 , 3:49am
post #1 of 7

Hi all,

I've been recommended this forum from a friend, and have been amazed about the amount of info on here!

I've always been a cup cake person, even made wedding cup cakes for some family members, and planned to do the same for my wedding (which is AGES away - 15th October 2011, as we're building and everything). But my fiance found a photo of a cake-cake on the web and decided that's what he wanted for our wedding cake, and we absolutely LOVE the cake, so even though our wedding is far away, we aren't going to be changing our minds.

The problem is that I would still like to make the cake, but I have no experience with making full cakes apart from a couple of bundt cakes, and then recently I made a ute cake for his 21st, and that's about it... So I'm a bit nervous about it, but luckily I have 2 years to prepare to be able to make it, and I was hoping you could please help me.

A photo of the cake is below:

What needs to be done to make this cake? (Apart from the obvious cooking the cake and covering it with fondant but.) And I have no idea how the black flowers are done - I hope it isn't from directly painting.... And if it is, is there a short-cut to get this done? Like printing it on edible icing?

Also, what techniques should I practice to be able to make this cake? I'm confident with the flowers, and I've done heaps of flower arranging. But can I arrange them on dry oasis with cardboard underneath it and leave it on the cake? Or is that unhygenic?