Undercharging When You're First Starting Out

Business By buggus Updated 1 Sep 2009 , 9:37pm by indydebi

buggus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
buggus Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 3:22pm
post #1 of 24

Did you do this?? I'm starting to feel a little jipped now. I charge $1.50 per decorated cookie, and the minimum is 1 dozen, so I get a whopping $18 from an order. I really think I should charge more, or I'm not going to make any money?? But, I was told you should undercharge in the beginning just to get started? I'm starting to think this isn't so true..

23 replies
Kellbella Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kellbella Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 3:26pm
post #2 of 24

I'm guilty of that...I guess I feel like I'm not experienced enough yet to charge someone what they "really" should be charged. I'm doing a wedding cake soon (my first) for 100 people and am only going to charge the bride $100.00. icon_cry.gif

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 3:31pm
post #3 of 24

Undercharging and especially undercharging on purpose, devalues our entire industry. How can I charge more than $1 per serving (and I do) when you've established that price in the marketplace? Never. And if you're ever going to be known as quality provider, then you have to charge. Otherwise, you establish your reputation right from the beginning as the "Cheap Cooke Place."

If you need to work on your skills,then do so. Make some lovely cookies using a new technique and give them to the local firehouse, retirement village, or children's home. But what you sell needs to be at market price, or you hurt all of us.

Nchanted1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nchanted1 Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 3:32pm
post #4 of 24

WHO TOLD YOU THAT? WRONG< WRONG< WRONG!

Charge enough to make a profit right from the get go. Have a 2 dozen minimum, and raise your prices right now.