Petal Dust On Buttercream

Decorating By FleurDeCake Updated 26 Aug 2009 , 4:36pm by indydebi

FleurDeCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FleurDeCake Posted 24 Aug 2009 , 8:52am
post #1 of 14

Hi I am new to cake decorating and I have used petal dust on fondant and gumpaste, but I was wondering in I could use petal dust to paint on crusted buttercream. I would like to be able to do some shading. Not yet able to air brush. any and all help would be really appreciated.

13 replies
JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 26 Aug 2009 , 6:15am
post #2 of 14

Everything you ever wanted to know about the various dusts:
(And how to use them.)

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-54059.html

HTH

CakeWhizz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeWhizz Posted 26 Aug 2009 , 6:57am
post #3 of 14

There is a lady on the forum called Thanh Thanh who does amzing work with buttercream. She also gets her buttercream work looking all pearly and shiny. It might be worth checking out her work for inspiration.

letsgetcaking Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
letsgetcaking Posted 26 Aug 2009 , 7:30am
post #4 of 14

I'd like to check out Thanh Thanh's work, but how do you search for a person? I entered the name into the search engine, but only came up with a copy of her cake.

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 26 Aug 2009 , 7:37am
post #5 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by letsgetcaking

I'd like to check out Thanh Thanh's work, but how do you search for a person? I entered the name into the search engine, but only came up with a copy of her cake.

How to search:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-636562-.html

HTH

CakeWhizz Posted 26 Aug 2009 , 9:49am
post #6 of 14

Many thanks for coming to the rescue yet again JanH!

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 26 Aug 2009 , 11:29am
post #7 of 14
Quote: