Mmf Vs Wilton Fondant

Decorating By nsgstdnt10 Updated 22 Aug 2009 , 9:55pm by AnitaK

nsgstdnt10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nsgstdnt10 Posted 21 Aug 2009 , 5:26am
post #1 of 16

hey guys...i'm pretty new to cake making and was curious as to what everyone thinks about MMF and store bought fondant. I've never made MMF or even seen it. I live in kentucky and it's usually humid here. Will humidity affect the way MMF sets up?? Does it get as stable as wilton's fondant for decorations?? And lastly, what do you all think about the taste? I personally don't like wilton's fondant, but like i said, never had experience with mmf before!!

15 replies
Elise87 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elise87 Posted 21 Aug 2009 , 5:39am
post #2 of 16

I use MMF all the time to cover cakes as well as decorations and i think it tastes great. I have only heard bad things about Wiltons fondant so would never ever use it lol

MMF is easy to use and i don't see a problem with it in heat or anything in my opinion. Should defiantly try it atleast once. There is also one called MFF (Michele Foster's Fondant i think it's called) and people say that's great too that you can also make at home.

If you want store bought go for something like Satin ice cose i have heard good things about that.

HTH

backermeister Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
backermeister Posted 21 Aug 2009 , 5:50am
post #3 of 16

Mmf is very inexpensive to make which is a plus and the taste is superior to both wilton and satin ice. I have had people that swore they never wanted a fondant cake due to the commercial brands and after tasting mmf they want nothing else. I live in florida and it withstands the humidity and heat fairly well. Give it a try cause you'll be glad you did. hth icon_smile.gif

xstitcher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xstitcher Posted 21 Aug 2009 , 5:55am
post #4 of 16