Trying To Be Legal!

Business By WildSugar Updated 23 Aug 2009 , 5:09am by Ruth0209

WildSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
WildSugar Posted 21 Aug 2009 , 12:29am
post #1 of 9

I want to do this cake selling thing legally, so i've been calling around to find out what i need to do. The health department said that as long as i was just selling baked good from my home and not a retail store, i dont need any kind of inspection or food safety anything. (Maybe because we're rural, i dont know?) My city said i just need a business application and a fee of $10, and the county said i need to file for and assumed business name and that i should talk to the state tax commission. THATS when it got iffy. That lady was a BEAST! I guess i was asking dumb questions (like, Do i have to charge sales tax?) but i've never done this before! I dont freakin' know!

Now i'm confused on what exactly i'm supposed to do. How and when do i pay state taxes and such? Will i get that info from them or do i have to figure it out on my own? I was afraid to ask the beast any more questions!

8 replies
tammyanderson6 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tammyanderson6 Posted 21 Aug 2009 , 12:52am
post #2 of 9

step one: cakes fall under Dept of Agriculture, license is usually free. contact them for an inspection and application.

step two: contact your state dept of revenue and apply for a tax ID and get info for paying state tax...you will file monthly...keep good records.

step three: go back to "the beast" and give her copies of your new license and certificate. She should calm down and purr like a kitten and then answer any and all questions you have in a civilized manner. (she's evil now because you have no idea what she goes through every day with liers and cheats)

Congratulations on your choice to go legal! I've been there and done that and got the tiger scars to prove it. Have a great day! www.andersonsbakery.org

kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile