Does Adding Color To Cookie Icing Change Taste?

Baking By zenu Updated 26 Aug 2009 , 10:19pm by cakelass

zenu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
zenu Posted 20 Aug 2009 , 3:34pm
post #1 of 11

Hi!

I use Toba's glace icing for my sugar cookies and up until now I've only received praise about them.

I'm making a cake and butterfly cookies for my friend's little girl's 5th birthday. It's all a gift- I'm a hobby baker.

My friend recently asked me why my white cookies taste better than the colored ones. At first I was surprised because no one has ever asked me that, not even my husband or mom- who are very honest with their critiques. I was also hurt because I felt that I'm working hard for free and not being appreciated. I just figured if your getting free cake and cookies, you shouldn't complain.

But I decided to take her comment to heart- I made pink butterfly cookies and all white ones. My 5 year old wanted some- he put a pink one in his mouth- then wanted to spit it out! He tried a white one and stuck with it.

So I did my own taste test- at first I couldn't taste anything different!!! I keep trying and now I think I do- like a slight bitterness, but only when I try the icing alone- not with the cookie.

I used maybe 2 drops of americolor...the bottle wasn't that old- could that make a difference? does americolor go bad?

Am I going crazy??? Has this happened to anyone else? Maybe my taste buds are desensitized?

any help would be appreciated!!! icon_smile.gif

10 replies
lovetofrost Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lovetofrost Posted 20 Aug 2009 , 6:38pm
post #2 of 11

sorry i can't help too much. i did notice a slight difference in my cookie glaze flavor with LOTS of color added...like red. but with a little pink, i'm not sure. maybe add a little more flavor to counter the color taste.

verono Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
verono Posted 20 Aug 2009 , 6:46pm
post #3 of 11

Never had a problem !
How do you flavor it?