Mmf Help! Colouring Dark Colours!

Decorating By Dacila77 Updated 2 Sep 2009 , 7:32pm by xstitcher

Dacila77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dacila77 Posted 16 Aug 2009 , 10:57pm
post #1 of 15

Hi Everyone,
I am a cake newbie (have made 18 cakes so far) and I exclusively use and make my own MMF. Here is my issue, I am having difficulty colouring dark colours (red, black, navy blue etc.) as the amount of Wilton's gel I have to add to achieve such dark coours is causing my fondant to crumble and lose it's "stretch". It's ok for piece work but, can't roll it and cover a cake with it. I've tried adding more crisco, more water, more icing sugar................am I missing something? Or should I be using some other kind of food colouring? Or am I destined to have to buy crappy tasting pre-made fondant?

Thanks for reading and I am greatful for any advice!

~ Alica

14 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 16 Aug 2009 , 11:26pm
post #2 of 15

Sometimes it helps to add the color in just after you melt the marshmallows, as long as you don't mind having an entire batch of the same color. To make brown or black you can add cocoa powder in place of some of the powdered sugar, as long as a chocolate flavor would be acceptable. Also, if you can get some Americolor super red, it doesn't take nearly as much to make your fondant red.

xstitcher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xstitcher Posted 16 Aug 2009 , 11:31pm
post #3 of 15

What kind of pre-made fondant have you tried. If it's only Wilton then yes it is indeed crappy tasting icon_lol.gif .

I think it's easier to buy the darker pre-made colours but if you don't mind the chocolate in your MMF then start with the darkest chocolate you can and then add the black. For red maybe you could start with the strawberry marshmallow's? I personally like MFF (Michele Foster's Fondant - found in recipe section) better than MMF especially when I add white chocolate to it.