Do Cake Shops Hire The Self Taught?

Business By luv2cook721 Updated 16 Aug 2009 , 3:10pm by jlynnw

luv2cook721 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luv2cook721 Posted 12 Aug 2009 , 2:24am
post #1 of 14

I am just wondering if being self-taught can get you(me) anywhere or if it is really necessary to have culinary schooling. There is no home baking businesses in my state and I don't see how I could buy a commercial kitchen and start a business from scratch and still keep a roof over my kids heads. I don't know that I am seriously considering working for a bakery either, but just curious if that would even be an option.

13 replies
Mensch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mensch Posted 12 Aug 2009 , 3:59am
post #2 of 14

If your work is up to par, why shouldn't they hire you?

xstitcher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xstitcher Posted 12 Aug 2009 , 4:04am
post #3 of 14

I guess it would depend on the bakery but personally I don't see why not as a number of great decorators (some well known) are self taught and do not have a culinary degree.

Bonavolonta Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bonavolonta Posted 12 Aug 2009 , 4:31am
post #4 of 14

I've been wondering the same thing myself. I went today to check out the Pastry Arts program at a nearby college. They want $17,500 for a 9 month course. Unbelievable! I'm sure I would love it and learn a lot but that is just outrages. I went straight from there to a well established bakery here in town and spoke with one of the owners. She said herself don't do it. She said I might as well spend 9 months working in a bakery learning hands on. Sure, I'll have to start as counter help for close to minimum wage but that's fine with me! The other owner (she wasn't in today) is self taught and now not only owns her own bakery but has won numerous awards, and competed on TLC and the Food network. Talk about inspiration!

luv2cook721 Posted 12 Aug 2009 , 5:02am
post #5 of 14