Can You Put Fondant On A Cake Iced With Cream Cheese?

Decorating By HAVEHOPE Updated 3 Aug 2009 , 2:48pm by Marianna46

HAVEHOPE Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HAVEHOPE Posted 3 Aug 2009 , 5:11am
post #1 of 5

I've been making cakes for 18 years, selling my cakes for the last 8, and have recently been asked to do a wedding cake. This will be iced with cream cheese icing. This is pretty much all I've worked with because my clients really love the taste of it. Incredibly, even though it takes much longer, I can achieve really nice design with it. However, the bride of the upcoming wedding I'm doing wants a fondant bow topper on the very top of the cake. And she also wants 3/4- 1" fondant strips coming down the bottom layer of the cake, spread about 1 1/2-2 inches apart.

My question is...am I able to put the bows on the cake that is iced with cream cheese? And...can it be refrigerated after placement on the cake or will the fondant crack?

The bottom 2 layers and top layer of the cake will be "dummy" layers. The 2nd layer will be the one they cut.

Thanks so much for any help you all can give me!

4 replies
JaimeAnn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JaimeAnn Posted 3 Aug 2009 , 5:45am
post #2 of 5

Why would you want to waste cream cheese icing on the dummy layers ?

I would ice those in Shortening based BC and only use the Cream cheese icing on the one to be cut.

Marianna46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marianna46 Posted 3 Aug 2009 , 5:51am
post #3 of 5