Martha Stewart.. U R Killin Me!! I Need Help!

Decorating By alwaysbridal Updated 29 Jul 2009 , 1:14pm by __Jamie__

alwaysbridal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alwaysbridal Posted 29 Jul 2009 , 3:42am
post #1 of 6

I feel Horrible, but I've tried several times to upload this picture from martha Stewart's site but after 2 hrs I give up! The cake I have questions on is on her site www.marthstewartweddings.com.
The name of the cake is, with a flourish, and its in Something blue cakes or you can do a search for with a flourish. I love this cake so I'm excited to do it for a bride that requested it, but I'm finding myself a little overwhelmed. she is only having 200 guests, so I plan to use a few cake dummies. But here are the questions.....
*What size cakes do you think they used, 14,12,10,8,6?
*What layers should I do Dummies? the 4th?
*With the floating layers for layers 2 and 4 do I use a regular cardboard cake board underneath? I've never done floating tiers before?
*The small 2" layers they used, I was thinking of using 2" specialty ordered cake dummies? I think that will add support, plus I dont need the xtra cake?
*Should I do a standard stacking construction? using dowels on each layer and then buying a large wooden dowel that I can purchase at a craft store that can be sharpened at one end and inserted with tapping of a hammer through the cakes, boards, and dummies?
*Would you construct the cake there (stack and dowel) or just do it before delivery? I will have about 5 miles to travel?Please Help! icon_confused.gif
Thanks for all your time,effort and help!!

5 replies
__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 29 Jul 2009 , 4:05am
post #2 of 6

Can you go to the page with the picture on it and copy the link? Paste it here. Your link isn't working.

__Jamie__ Posted 29 Jul 2009 , 4:13am
post #3 of 6

http://www.marthastewartweddings.com/article/calligraphy-and-cakes-with-a-flourish?autonomy_kw=flourish&rsc=image_6