Family Wants Free Cakes - Help!

Decorating By mkm25 Updated 22 Jul 2009 , 11:21pm by CookieMakinMomma

mkm25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mkm25 Posted 22 Jul 2009 , 12:42pm
post #1 of 14

I know I've seen this discussed on CC before, but my search function isn't working right now...

Anyway, to make a long story short, I'm a full-time graduate student, teach Wilton courses 2 nights a week, and usually work on cakes during the other evenings. I don't do a whole lot of business - mostly just cakes for friends, but it keeps me busy. When I finish my Ph.D. (in December, yay!), I'd like to go into cake decorating full-time so this is something I'm serious about.

Well, my hubby's family is always asking me to make cakes...either for free or for way cheaper than I would normally charge for them! I think that's rude...by asking me to do it for free, they're not supporting my future career and they're asking a LOT out of me! Even though I really enjoy decorating, if I'm not getting paid to do a cake, I would probably choose to sit and relax for once!

It really irks me that they expect me to drop everything 3 days before a party and work on a cake (they have no idea how much time it takes and they always ask for complicated designs). But what irks me even more is my hubby doesn't see my point of view! He thinks if they pay me for the cost of the supplies, that's enough! Ugh!

Does anyone else feel like it's rude of them? How can I rectify the situation without looking rude in return for saying I don't do cakes for free??? I mean, I already offer a 15% friends and family discount...isn't that generous?

13 replies
Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 22 Jul 2009 , 1:01pm
post #2 of 14

use the contractor analogy.

it's alright to pay:
a plumber just for supplies isn't it when a repair is made?
a car mechanic just for parts?
a carpenter just for the wood, screws, nails, etc?
a ......

of course he will answer no.

then ditto for me!