Newbie, Lots Of Questions, Cake For Wedding, Freezing, Etc!!

Decorating By mommybrooke Updated 21 Jul 2009 , 4:09pm by newnancy

mommybrooke Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommybrooke Posted 21 Jul 2009 , 5:14am
post #1 of 4

Hi all, I am pretty new here.....and I have lots of questions! I am not sure if I am even posting this in the right forum, hope so!!
I made my first biggie cake back in May for my sons 2nd birthday, thanks to lots of help from lurking here!! I just did buttercream, with fondant accents, two tier....well my sister is getting married in October and wants me to do her wedding cake!! She likes the look of fondant, so I practiced today just covering one cake with it and it turned out great! I made the MMF.
Here are questions though...I am a fulltime student and mom of 2 boys, so I have a lot to do, plus the matron of honor in her wedding as well!! SOOO can I bake cake layers and freeze them? Will they be as good? How far in advance do I do that? Then I assume icing and fondant will have to be done pretty close?? How do I transport it, do I assemble here or take each tier and do it there?? Are just dowel rods and cake boards enough? I have a horror already of it collapsing during the wedding lol!!! Also where do I go to look for good fillings, cake flavors, icing, etc. I want it to taste good too!! I usually do the doctored cake mix cakes and use the regular buttercream recipe, but I just do butter...no crisco. I would just love some awesome combos for her wedding....
Sorry for all the ramble and questions, but just wanted to get a start, know I will have LOOOTS more!!!
Thanks!!

3 replies
cathyscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cathyscakes Posted 21 Jul 2009 , 5:41am
post #2 of 4