Bake Even Strips??

Decorating By Lenette Updated 13 Jul 2009 , 2:58pm by thecakeplace2

Lenette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lenette Posted 11 Jul 2009 , 11:14pm
post #1 of 9

I know have read that some of you use this but I am having trouble searching the forums. Is this a popular tool?

How do you feel it has improved your cakes? I am thinking of trying this so I can get consistently even bakes layers that rise nice and high.

Just wanted to ask what ya'll think of them. TIA!

8 replies
Echooo3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Echooo3 Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 12:10am
post #2 of 9

I am fairly new at this but I did buy the bake even strips several months ago. In my exprerience, It takes longer to bake a cake, however, they do come out more level. The bake even strips insulates the outside of the cake so it doesn't cook too fast so you get a more even distribution of baking.

Hope that helps. Can't wait to hear what others say.

pebblez87 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pebblez87 Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 12:10am
post #3 of 9

i bought them and i noticed a big difference. I used to have the extremely domed centers or really dry crispy outsides and nearly raw middles( chocolate cake). I have little to no dome which means not as much cake shaving so you can keep the thickness and i think it does cook more evenly. I have heard of some people soaking terry cloth towels but i guess i like the premade stuff

nicolesprinkle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nicolesprinkle Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 12:20am
post #4 of 9

It does take a little longer to bake a cake with these, but I think it is worth it! My cakes used to be domed and have really crispy dark edges. Now I have a perfectly even and tender cake. It really works great with deeper pans also!

newnancy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
newnancy Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 12:26am
post #5 of 9

I've used these for years & believe they really do work as everyone else has said.....worth the money.