Petal Dust- Do You Use It?

Decorating By maruskab Updated 11 Jul 2009 , 9:58am by brincess_b

maruskab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maruskab Posted 10 Jul 2009 , 12:04pm
post #1 of 6

Do you use petal dusts?
I don´t know, what kind of it to pick. What brand is the best for you?

I have an opportunity to buy "Professional Colour Kit by Squires Kitchen - dust colour set", but I don´t know if it will be good for me icon_redface.gif

Or... do you prefer paste colours?

I need colours mainly for sugar flowers and to finish patchwork cutouts.

Thanks!

5 replies
mkm25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mkm25 Posted 10 Jul 2009 , 1:06pm
post #2 of 6

I am self-taught when it comes to petal dust, but I'll tell you what I've learned...

I use petal dust mostly on gum paste flowers. You can just brush the dust on with a dry brush. Before I brush the color on the flower, I tap it on the inside of the petal dust cap to get rid of excess dust. This will prevent you from getting TOO much color and splotches. I usually wait for my petals to dry completely before I dust them, unless the dried shape is too difficult to get into all the nooks and crannies. icon_smile.gif

After I finish dusting the flowers, I hold them over a pot of boiling water for a few seconds. This melts the dust and blends the colors really nicely. You can also use a clothes steamer if you have one.

For my flowers, I use Crystal Colors and CK. Keep in mind that I'm a beginner so those are just the ones I've found in stores near me - I only have about 8 colors though! icon_smile.gif

I have also used the gold and silver dusts made by Wilton. For those, I usually mix them with a little bit of clear alcohol and paint them onto details of a cake. For example, I used the silver + alochol on the stethoscope cakes in my gallery.

I hope this helps!

Cake4ever Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cake4ever Posted 10 Jul 2009 , 1:37pm
post #3 of 6