Where/how Butterflys?

Decorating By blueydmom2004 Updated 28 Jun 2009 , 9:29pm by blueydmom2004

blueydmom2004 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
blueydmom2004 Posted 27 Jun 2009 , 2:45am
post #1 of 9

I have a bride who wants butterflys on the wedding cake. What would be the best way to do this? I know of two ways...cutting the butterflys from fondant with a cookie cutter and stenciling with melted chocolate. She wants to see both ways to choose what she likes better. Where would I bet a good cutter from? And what would be the best way to do the melted chocolate?
Guess I should mention that I've never done this before! icon_redface.gif lol thanks!

8 replies
cata29 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cata29 Posted 27 Jun 2009 , 3:17am
post #2 of 9

if you are close to a store that specializes in cake decorating, you can find all kind of cutters and with the stenciles you lay it over the cake or whatever you are using and with a spatula with chocolate go over the stencile then just peel away very slowly hope this helps

TamiAZ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TamiAZ Posted 27 Jun 2009 , 3:49am
post #3 of 9

You could use patchwork cutters.. Global Sugar Art sells them.

Here's a link to a sample board I did. The butterflies in the upper right hand corner are done with the patchwork cutters. Quick and easy!!

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules/coppermine/albums/userpics/15524/patchwork_sample_board.jpg

gloria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gloria Posted 27 Jun 2009 , 4:51am
post #4 of 9

I also used the patchwork cutters.

I then "painted" them with the edible markers. Check my photos.

Good luck.

JodieF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JodieF Posted 27 Jun 2009 , 2:23pm
post #5 of 9

Look at the butterfly cake in my photos. I got them at FancyFlours. They're gorgeous. They even have a photo of them on a wedding cake on their website!

http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1352847

Jodie