Asking Me For A Wal-Mart Cake!

Business By cakesbyg08 Updated 23 Jun 2009 , 3:36pm by cakesdelight

cakesbyg08 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbyg08 Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 11:13am
post #1 of 11

I am a baker just starting out and pretty much baking for friends and family. I've been charging cost of supplies but since I'm starting to branch out I've upped my charges slightly. (I'm not really trying to undercut any other bakers, if there are in my area, I'm just not confident in my own abilities) Anyway, I recently had a acquaintance give me a $200 budget and creative control. I ended up spending about all of it on supplies (that includes the gum paste tools and new pans.) Now here is the nitty gritty my boss (I'm a restaurant manager) told me that if she paid $200 I should have only spent $25 on the cake to make. However, this weekend I'm making a baby shower cake for one of our co-workers who she is throwing the shower. She is the one that approached me about the cake. I really didn't have any doubt about her paying for at least the cost and maybe a little bit more (which I was willing to do so I could buy a gift since I really don't work with our co-worker that often) However, yesterday she informed me that the budget only allowed for a $30 cake like you would get at Wal-Mart! icon_surprised.gif My problem is that I've already bought the supplies and that has cost me about $50 and some of it will go bad if I don't use it soon and I would really like to have a great tasting cake to get my name out there more and not degrade myself for putting out a box cake but is it really worth loosing money over. I should tell her to go to Wal-Mart!!!!

10 replies
Nchanted1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nchanted1 Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 11:23am
post #2 of 11

Here's my suggestion. Go and buy a Walmart cake for the shower. Don't spend more than $30.