Types Of Icing??

Decorating By ikklejo Updated 9 Jun 2009 , 2:49pm by ikklejo

ikklejo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ikklejo Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 5:27pm
post #1 of 10

Hiya im really really new to cake making and just wondered if someone can help with the different types of icing to use? Also what goes where from cake to fully iced??

Thanks icon_smile.gificon_biggrin.gif

9 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 6:43pm
post #2 of 10

Welcome to CC! I think you'll find this site is highly addictive and very fun!

There are lots of different icings that you can use. There's American buttercream, there's Swiss Meringue Buttercream (SMBC), there's Italian Meringue Buttercream (IMBC), there's 7 minute frosting, the list just goes on and on with frostings. Personally, I think the most stable icings have shortening in them. Although I do love SMBC!

Ok, so here's the way that I do my cakes. You have made your cakes. You've torted your cakes. You have a little piece of cardboard to put under your cake. Take a bit of the icing and dab it onto the cardboard. Set the cake onto the cardboard. Then I fill the cake and put the next layer of cake on. Then I fill the cake again, put the next layer of cake on. I take an icing tip and ice the top and sides of the cake.

Then I take a spatula and dip it in super hot water. Dry the water off. And then use the hot spatula to take off the excess icing and make it smooth. Then I take Viva papertowels (after the cake crusts) and smooth down any rough spots.

Hope this helps and that it makes sense.

cylstrial Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 6:44pm
post #3 of 10

I forgot to attach this link. It will help you figure out what all the acronyms stand for!
http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-2926.html

ikklejo Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 6:48pm
post #4 of 10