Dry Looking Gumpaste/fondant Bassinet Help Please

Decorating By peytonsgammy Updated 15 Jul 2009 , 4:53am by kellertur

peytonsgammy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peytonsgammy Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 6:26am
post #1 of 6

This is my first time using gumpaste or fondant. I am going to start helping my daughter out who went to school to learn how to make cakes. She does not like working with gumpaste though. This is where I will come in now. I have been reading up on it and have bought alot of supplies. I read on here how to blend it 70/30 or 50/50 depending on the persons preference. I also read how to make gumpaste glue. That has been a godsend on this project!!!!!!! icon_biggrin.gif Thank you ladies for these tips!

The bassinet I am making is looking dry after it dry's. Kinda like a stick of gum would look. At first I thought maybe I put too much powdered sugar in the gumpaste when I mixed it. So I bought the premade stuff today and tried it. Nope, it is drying the same. Both the gumpastes are by Wilton.

Is there a way to keep it looking more moist?

Another question I have... What is the difference between Shimmer Dust and Luster Dust? Is Shimmer Dust suppose to be applied when gumpaste is wet or dry? I played with it on a sample of gumpaste and it didn't work to well. The gumpaste was 45% dry. What do you use to paint the flowers with? On the internet it says to use the edible chalk but I can't find it in stores here. Do you use an alternate or order online?

Thanks for helping me. I appreciate any help I can get!

Peytonsgammy

5 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 6:40am
post #2 of 6

You can paint the finished piece with a little bit of vodka to get the dry look to go away. It's probably from the powdered sugar or cornstarch you used while rolling it out.