The Temperature Truth And The Leave It Out Game..?

Business By sadsmile Updated 7 Jun 2009 , 2:48am by Sugarflowers

sadsmile Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sadsmile Posted 4 Jun 2009 , 3:59pm
post #1 of 13

I am just a home baker hobbyist and I figured I would ask this in here to get more professional answers from you who have food safety knowledge. icon_wink.gif Lots of recipes say leave out on the counter or fine at room temperature.
What is that standard for room temperature?
What is the cold storage temperature by industry standards?
What temperature do you store your decorated cakes at? Be them BC or Ganache or Fondant?
You can buy buckets of stuff that is OK to sit out at room temperature and have a shelf life. No need to refrigerate after opening due to the preservatives. (Do I understand this correctly thus far?) icon_confused.gif
Fondant recipes state OK to sit out at room temperature. Some say it should keep for a month. Some say it never goes bad. These recipes do not have the preservatives that the commercially sold by the bucket stuff has do they?

I have made MFF and MMF fondant and kept it double plastic wrapped and bagged inside an air tight container on the counter. After a week I really didnt like the smell of either. You know that funky smell and its not going on a cake! I have read that there is nothing in them that can spoil. I am really not convinced that it is just stale. I think that it is turning or has spoiled. If you make MFF with milk then the milk can spoil. Its perishable-ness(yeah icon_redface.gif thats not really a word is it?) is somewhat retarded by the cooking and sugar but it is still dairy and should have an expiration date even if stored in a cooler or fridge shouldnt it?