I Can't Help But Think I've Messed Up!

Baking By ghammer Updated 5 Jun 2009 , 9:26pm by TracyLH

ghammer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ghammer Posted 2 Jun 2009 , 5:35pm
post #1 of 10

I have a bunch of friends coming into town this weekend (Sunday) and on Monday we're going to Cedar Point amusement park without our husband and/or kids. So I made a bunch of cookies for them in various shapes and designs. Because I'm only a hobby baker and have 2 kids at home with me all day alone, I had to bake them early. I baked some yesterday (just a few) and the rest today. I let them cool and put them in air tight containers. I've iced a few and am letting them set right now before I add on extra detail and then I will give them the proper drying time before I put them in cello bags. I haven't iced all of my cookies yet, but I keep thinking the ones I have done and sitting to dry are going to be hard by the time my friends get them?

Is it likely they will be stale by then?

9 replies
linedancer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
linedancer Posted 2 Jun 2009 , 5:38pm
post #2 of 10

They will probably be all right, but you could stick them in the freezer after you bag them.

ghammer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ghammer Posted 2 Jun 2009 , 5:43pm
post #3 of 10

I thought about doing that, but they are iced with a glace and I wasn't sure about the outcome of that

cindy58 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cindy58 Posted 2 Jun 2009 , 7:16pm
post #4 of 10

I do mine with Glace' and they are good after freezing.

cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 2 Jun 2009 , 7:26pm
post #5 of 10

Eat the ones that you've already frosted. Stick the ones you haven't in the freezer for a couple of days. Pull them out, let them thaw and then ice them on Thursday. =o) They will think they are fresh.

PattyT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PattyT Posted 2 Jun 2009 , 7:28pm
post #6 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cindy58