For Those Of You Who Buy Fondant...

Decorating By ybeal Updated 4 Jun 2009 , 3:01pm by cindy1176

ybeal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ybeal Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 12:46pm
post #1 of 14

I am a beginner so I buy fondant, so far I've only used Wilton but is there any brand that is better tasting?? Satin Ice or Choco-pan or something??

Thanks for the input!

Eve

13 replies
lilscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilscakes Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 12:55pm
post #2 of 14

I've just started using satinice. It's really nice to work with, but the you can't beat the taste of Toba Garrett's homemade fondant. You'll find that in my recipes....really easy to make and wonderful to work with....

Erika2000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Erika2000 Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 12:57pm
post #3 of 14

After trying several different products, Satin Ice has been the most consistent for me. However, I did recently make MMF and was very pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to make, how good it tasted and how well it rolled out and covered - just more work if you are doing lots of cakes.

cutthecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cutthecake Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 1:02pm
post #4 of 14

Don't eat the Wilton! It's awful-tasting.....like chemical run-off from a nuclear waste plant. Make your own, or buy something else. Have you tried marshmallow fondant? It's easy and inexpensive to make.

aggiechef Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aggiechef Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 1:04pm
post #5 of 14

I personally like the choco-pan because it's easy to work with and very tasty. It's not good for modeling, though, so look for something else if you plan on modeling with it. Choco-pan also doesn't get hard like Satin Ice will.

It's all a matter of preference, but just about everything tastes better than Wilton. icon_smile.gif

Hope this helps.

misserica Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
misserica Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 1:10pm
post #6 of 14