Cake Disaster In The Making... Please Help Me Save It!

Decorating By sharon1800 Updated 2 Jun 2009 , 3:59am by madgeowens

sharon1800 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sharon1800 Posted 30 May 2009 , 4:10am
post #1 of 11

I am making a piano cake for a party tomorrow and, of course, I just started it this evening. It is my first attempt at a carved cake because it is curving on top and sides. I used a white/chocolate marble cake with a chocolate buttercream. Originally, I was going to use cookies iced in black and white for the keys atop and three cookie recipes later, I decided to use fondant because they weren't fitting right and were breaking.
Here's the problem:
The cake is super crumbly and is literally falling apart. I got the crumb coat on it and it is lumpy, crumby and UGLY. I have a few hours to decide if I am going to continue with the buttercream or try to put some fondant on it. I am worried that there will be too much icing if I use buttercream since it will have to be really thick to cover the uglies. And fondant is not going to come out smooth and I don't have time to let it rest.
Any suggestions would be appreciated. It is for a dear friend and I don't want to show up with a Publix cake icon_smile.gif
Thanks!

10 replies
pipe-dreams Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pipe-dreams Posted 30 May 2009 , 4:13am
post #2 of 11

Try popping it in the freezer for 30 minutes or an hour. You can work on the keys while it's in there.
For future reference, I always freeze cakes that are going to be hand carved at least overnight to firm them up. Works great, and you don't get all the crumbs. Hope this helps, and good luck!

catcreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catcreations Posted 30 May 2009 , 4:23am
post #3 of 11

I would do the same as pipe-dreams, put the cake in the freezer for as long as you can.

txnonnie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
txnonnie Posted 30 May 2009 , 4:23am
post #4 of 11