How Much Would You Charge For This Cake?????

Decorating By Gloria72777 Updated 31 May 2009 , 1:23am by blondeez

Gloria72777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Gloria72777 Posted 29 May 2009 , 2:04pm
post #1 of 11

I am new to cake making and I know I have A LOT of questions but, I need help with this. I haven't actually charged anyone for my cakes and my DH said that I had better make some money soon. I made this abby cadabby cake it is home made chocolate cake with butter cream under fondant. The sizes are 10 inch and 8 inch double stacked. The abby cadabby and the old fashion suckers are hand sculpted.

Thanks so much, Gloria usaribbon.gifusaribbon.gifusaribbon.gifusaribbon.gificon_biggrin.gif

10 replies
BakeLoveMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakeLoveMom Posted 29 May 2009 , 2:10pm
post #2 of 11

I looked at it in your photos and it would help to know the sizes. I have been doing this a while and I still have trouble pricing to actually make it worth my time. If I know the person well, I list out all the ingredients and their prices and show them what the ingredients alone add up to. Then they usually pay me more than I have the heart to ask for. I would be interested to see what other posters say.

Thanks,
Sarah

Gloria72777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Gloria72777 Posted 29 May 2009 , 2:11pm
post #3 of 11

I guess a pic would help.....LOL
LL

cata29 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cata29 Posted 29 May 2009 , 3:15pm
post #4 of 11

From what I've heard they always say to add up the all the material and charge that times 3.

example material $20.00 x 3

Hope this helps icon_wink.gif

melhoneybee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melhoneybee Posted 29 May 2009 , 3:22pm
post #5 of 11