How Much Would You Charge For This Cake?

Decorating By bubba01 Updated 18 May 2009 , 6:17am by JaimeAnn

bubba01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bubba01 Posted 16 May 2009 , 2:31am
post #1 of 15

Hello everyone! I just finfished this cake this evening, it is for a friend of my son's. My DH looked at it and asked how much I was going to charge for it and I told him $70. He told me it was too much. The cake is a 6 and 9 inch cake (total 44 servings using wilton chart), made with gumpste animals. Is $70 too much? I have been doing cakes for about 3 years and just went back to work full time, so I decided not to give anyone deals anymore. If they wanted my cakes they were going to make it worth my while. Am I wrong to think that? Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
LL

14 replies
cakeinthebox4U Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeinthebox4U Posted 16 May 2009 , 2:40am
post #2 of 15

I think that is totally reasonable ... a bargin really you are charging less then $2/serving - maybe you should reconsider and charge MORE!!

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 16 May 2009 , 2:52am
post #3 of 15

No, CakeBuddy and Mr. CakeBuddy, $70 is not even remotely close to too much.

If they're gonna make it worth your while then you need to give them another chance because it ain't happening this time. icon_biggrin.gif

I figure that cake to serve 54 servings (because they will serve 1x1x2*** inch servings and you might as well get paid for them)

That cake (remember I'm sight unseen here) should be a minimum of $150. $3 a serving is a good starting place for buttercream tier cakes--At least $100 for $2 a serving--no less than that.

***Oops--typo!!! it's supposed to be 1x2x4--so sorry

KawaiiCakeCook Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KawaiiCakeCook Posted 16 May 2009 , 2:59am
post #4 of 15

smooth buttercream, even tops, cute animals, 70 is beyond reasonable.

-K8memphis Posted 16 May 2009 , 3:02am
post #5 of 15