Covering Tall Cake With Fondant

Decorating By cakedoc88 Updated 14 May 2009 , 5:40pm by jjkarm

cakedoc88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakedoc88 Posted 14 May 2009 , 2:28am
post #1 of 10

hi everyone. i am a newbie to cake decorating. just took my 1st class 6 months ago and fell in love with it. this website is fantastic and i have learned a lot from all of you!!! my problem is my cousin is asking me to make her wedding cake for her in november. and she wants 5 layers.4 will be dummies and only one real cake. (she has a dessert buffet so the cake is just for show). my problem is she wants a tall cake with each layer 8 inches tall) how do you cover 18 inch cake that is 8 inches tall>is it possible?

i have 6 months to practice so i hope you guys can give me tips. need all the help i can get . thanks.

-ann

9 replies
Bluehue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bluehue Posted 14 May 2009 , 3:53am
post #2 of 10

Welcome cakedoc88, nice to *meet* you.

Hmmm - like the rest of us you are going to have to roll your sleeves up and roll, roll, roll, roll, and then roll some more. icon_wink.gif

So i am guessing that the actuall 8inch high cake will be 2 x 3 inch individual cakes - torted (2 or 3 times) and then ganached/filled. supported with eithr wooden dowells or the sps sytem that is talked about on here....and with the fonant on top you will achive the 8 inches in height you need?

If the cake is to be 18 inches round - then you measure ....

Up one side = 8 inches
Across the top = 18 inches -
Down the other side = 8 inches

Which gives you a total of a 34 inch round diametor.....
plus a few inches more for the overhang which you will need to trim away from the base of the cake.

Thats a lot of fondant - icon_surprised.gif
Just remember to keep turning the mat your fondant is on - so as to roll it out evenly to about a 1/4 inch thickness.