Which Would You Use?

Decorating By BeeBoos-8599_ Updated 8 May 2009 , 3:18pm by BeeBoos-8599_

BeeBoos-8599_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BeeBoos-8599_ Posted 7 May 2009 , 4:03pm
post #1 of 9

I am finishing up a cake for this weekend and I need some opinions on what I should use for one of the final touches. I have a gum paste area rug that is sitting on a sheet cake which has been painted to look like a wood floor. There are dowels under it so I don't expect the rug to move (i allso have some bc under it just to be sure). ANYWAY, I need to add the fringe on the ends of the rug and cannot decide which product to use.
Would you use Royal, BC, Gum Paste (This would be really hard to do because of the size of the fringe needed). I am just afraid that if the cake flexes at all whatever I use will break or crack. Any thougths would be very helpfull. TIA
LL

8 replies
Valli_War Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Valli_War Posted 7 May 2009 , 4:08pm
post #2 of 9

I am no expert, but wanted to tell that the cake is beautiful. Just my idea. Can't you use bc and use grass tip to do the fringes. It should look neat.

Just my thought. Good luck with whatever you decide to do.

tiggerjo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggerjo Posted 7 May 2009 , 4:10pm
post #3 of 9

my thoughts would be buttercream with the grass/hair tip. If that tip would make too much of a fringe, maybe some duct tape over some of the holes would help.

nonnyscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nonnyscakes Posted 7 May 2009 , 4:13pm
post #4 of 9

Do you have to have the fringe? I think your cake is great and the rug is perfect without fringe. If you feel it necessary, I would probably do the fringe with RI, tip 1 or 2. JMHO, HTH

Starkie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Starkie Posted 7 May 2009 , 4:25pm
post #5 of 9