Serious Cakes -- I Need Your Advice! Others Welcome Too!

Decorating By lvspaisley Updated 3 May 2009 , 4:39am by shanna_banana

lvspaisley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lvspaisley Posted 1 May 2009 , 5:08pm
post #1 of 17

Hello Serious Cakes & Everyone!

Well, I am working hard to perfect your icing recipe. But no matter how much more liquid I add, or how much longer I let the mixer go, I still end up with TOTALLY airy frosting. I am bummed out...here's a picture of it on the spatula and in a dollop...what should I do??

Thanks! icon_smile.gif
LL
LL

16 replies
Donnagardner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Donnagardner Posted 1 May 2009 , 5:13pm
post #2 of 17

It looks like it is to thin to me and has been whipped to much but I am no expert by any means. Good luck.

mbt4955 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mbt4955 Posted 1 May 2009 , 5:23pm
post #3 of 17

Did you PM Serious_Cakes? She might not see this thread.

Valli_War Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Valli_War Posted 1 May 2009 , 5:28pm
post #4 of 17

I use her recipe too. I think you have added too much of liquid. You cannot go by the amount of liquid called in any icing recipe since it depends on how hot and humid the weather is. You can add some more confectioner's sugar or try adding some corn starch and mixing it. Her frosting sure is yummy and I like it mainly because it uses most of butter.

cakes22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakes22 Posted 1 May 2009 , 5:37pm
post #5 of 17

If you check out serious_cakes on youtube, she gives a little more detail on what she is doing and you can see exactly what she does and how she does it.......
She has quite a few vid's and one specifically for her B/C
hth

destinyrn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
destinyrn Posted 1 May 2009 , 6:00pm
post #6 of 17

Is this recipe in the recipe section?

Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 2 May 2009 , 12:55am
post #7 of 17