Self-Taught

Decorating By RetiredNavyChief Updated 4 May 2009 , 6:21pm by Reimagining_Confections

i_heart_pastry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
i_heart_pastry Posted 30 Apr 2009 , 10:56pm
post #31 of 51

I'm self-taught too. One of these days I'll finally take some classes (I'd love to!) but for now I'll keep playing around and experimenting on my own. Thank goodness for the great folks here on CC who have answered my questions and provided inspiration!

Bec

JenniferMI Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JenniferMI Posted 1 May 2009 , 12:39am
post #32 of 51

I am basically self-taught. I've taken one formal class.

Books...DVD's are a wonderful source of knowledge.

Jen icon_smile.gif

GenGen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GenGen Posted 1 May 2009 , 12:42am
post #33 of 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by JenniferMI

I am basically self-taught. I've taken one formal class.

Books...DVD's are a wonderful source of knowledge.

Jen icon_smile.gif

me too! though i don't have any dvd's. just discovered a few lessons' on Youtube last year (yah i'm a bit behind lol) i first learned my First design cake by watching martha stewart show Years ago when she did the basket cake with candied pansies. everytime i'd do a cake before that i always kept thinking their had to be a better way.. kept asking around for shaped pans etc. even at some cake shops - had little luck back then. my first carved cake was that semi truck in my photos.

CCCTina Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CCCTina Posted 1 May 2009 , 12:57am
post #34 of 51

Like everyone else, I have learned from books and the internet. If I had been exposed to cake decorating at an early age, I know I would have taken a different course in life and went to pastry school. I didn't realize then that I could combine two of my favorite things--sweets and art! Now if I could just figure out how to exercise while simultaneously baking, life would be great! icon_biggrin.gif