Would You Do This??

Business By QueenOfSweets Updated 17 Apr 2009 , 3:14pm by MacsMom

QueenOfSweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
QueenOfSweets Posted 16 Apr 2009 , 1:41pm
post #1 of 16

I've had an inquiry for a 3D sculpted cake for a party. The thing is, the customer stated in her inquiry email that the 3D cake doesn't have to be very big because they're getting sheet cakes elsewhere since the party is going to be large. I imagine these sheet cakes will likely be from Wal-Mart, Costco, or a similar place.

I'm just getting started in my business, so I'd like to take any orders I can. I just am having a little heartburn over sending my cake somewhere where the bulk of the cake will not be mine. I don't want guests to think those sheet cakes are mine, because I bake everything from scratch and honestly feel I have a better product. Would you do this?????? If not, what would your reply to this customer be?

Thanks in advance for your help!

15 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 16 Apr 2009 , 2:06pm
post #2 of 16

NO way. All the cake comes from me, or none of it does. it's in my contract. Everyone will remember the pretty cake you made and the dry crappy cake they ate - and assume you produced it all.

No, no way.

jewelykaye Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jewelykaye Posted 16 Apr 2009 , 2:19pm
post #3 of 16

I wouldn't do it either.

Your reply could be something like:

"I understand that you are on a budget. However, I only allow my product to be the only baked goods at the event. This may sound a little strange but I have to protect my business. If someone gets sick on cake how would they know for sure whose it was? I really appreciate you coming to me for your 3D cake. I would be more than happy to provide you with a quote for the 3D cake and the additional sheet cake(s) that you need. Please let me know what you would like to do."

cocorum21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cocorum21 Posted 16 Apr 2009 , 2:40pm