All The Colors Of Ri?

Baking By lhayes1976 Updated 15 Apr 2009 , 9:11pm by crystalina1977

lhayes1976 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lhayes1976 Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 2:28pm
post #1 of 10

To those of you that use lots of color on your cookies, do you make a new batch of RI every time or do you have colors made up and ready to go? Do you leave the icing in the bag/bottle or do you clean out everytime?

9 replies
bonniebakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bonniebakes Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 2:56pm
post #2 of 10

I don't make my cookies to sell, I'm just a hobbyist, so I'm not sure if my answer will help you or not....

I use about one batch of icing (I use a modified version of Antonia74's recipe) for one whole batch of cookies (NFSC). I portion the icing out and color it as needed. If I make a 1/2 batch of cookies, which I usually do because it fits in my mixer better, I will keep as much icing as I can white, so that I can color it for another batch. I don't keep my already made icing for more than 1 week if it is going to be eater, but I do sometimes save it if I have a lot of extra for practicing if I know it is not going to be eaten. I store it in a Tupperware container at room temperature.

Hope that helps!

sarah0418 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarah0418 Posted 11 Apr 2009 , 3:07pm
post #3 of 10