How Do You Keep Fondant From Hardening On The Cake???

Decorating By ranbel Updated 1 Apr 2009 , 11:34pm by ranbel

ranbel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ranbel Posted 29 Mar 2009 , 4:32pm
post #1 of 15

I have a 4 tier cake next weekend all covered in fondant. My question is: If I cover the cake Friday night, will it still be soft enough to cut for a Saturday night wedding?
Should I cover the cake with seran wrap or will it be ok sitting out? The cake will be iced with b/c underneath.

Thanks

14 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 29 Mar 2009 , 4:40pm
post #2 of 15

I'm no fondant expert, but I made my 50th birthday cake on Thursday and served it Saturday. Be sure to use a non-serated knife (as I found out the hard way).

ranbel Posted 29 Mar 2009 , 4:45pm
post #3 of 15

Thank indydebi. Funny that it's you responding. I will be using your b/c recipe for this cake...LOVE IT. it is so light and tasty..

I don't do a lot with fondant either, but this is for my niece's wedding and of course I want it to be perfect for her.

Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 29 Mar 2009 , 5:44pm
post #4 of 15

I'm not sure you really can keep it from becoming hard. If you try the seran wrap thing please let us know if it works to keep it soft.

Good luck with the cake and have fun at the wedding. icon_smile.gif

LaBellaFlor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaFlor Posted 29 Mar 2009 , 5:52pm
post #5 of 15

I have never had a rock hard, or even some what hard fondant covered cake that had to wait a couple of days before. They all cut soft, I assume it has to do with the buttercream underneath that you need to attach the fondant that keeps it soft. The only thing that gets hard are fondant pieces that I make & let get hard for a few days.

Caths_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caths_Cakes Posted 29 Mar 2009 , 6:02pm
post #6 of 15