Facebook As A Marketing Tool

Business By HeidiCrumbs Updated 30 Mar 2009 , 9:36pm by sweetsbyJ

HeidiCrumbs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HeidiCrumbs Posted 29 Mar 2009 , 12:18am
post #1 of 13

Has this been posted about before? If so, sorry, and could someone please link me to it?

If not, has anyone done this? I have heard it is getting popular, like getting an account so that you can get the bakery's own "page" or whatever they're called. I'm new to Facebook as well and don't have all of the lingo down.

So I'm assuming that people would accept the bakery as one of their "friends" and then you can do online specials for these people which would encourage more people to sign up as a friend?

I may be way off base as I haven't Googled this yet, I'm curious if anyone else is doing this. Thanks!

Heidi.

12 replies
jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 29 Mar 2009 , 12:38am
post #2 of 13

There are lots of CCers who use Facebook. I use it but haven't been on it long enough to tell you all the answers about it. I started out using it to keep in touch with friends and then posted a few pictures of cakes. It has snowballed from there and now people want to add me as a friend to view and talk about cakes. Several orders have come from there, but it wasn't my original intent. Maybe someone else will respond with more knowledge about the advertising standpoint.

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 29 Mar 2009 , 1:58am
post #3 of 13

I have my business on Facebook but I don't think it necessarily does much but help promote a website you already have..... its always good to have links wherever you can online though.

CakeForte Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeForte Posted 29 Mar 2009 , 2:08am
post #4 of 13

Facebook is another interactive social networking tool. For a business...you create a "page" and then people that want to be your friend become a "fan".