Smbc - Does Melvira Or Upside Down Really Work?

Decorating By drakegore Updated 19 Mar 2009 , 10:46pm by __Jamie__

drakegore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
drakegore Posted 19 Mar 2009 , 2:49pm
post #1 of 23

hello!

i am new to cake central and cannot believe how terrific this site is and how much wonderful information i have found! i wish i had found this two years ago when i first started decorating!

i use SMBC and love it, but i spend tons of time working on getting the cakes smooth and clean edges (i am a fussbudget....).

i have been reading on the site about the melvira method and the upside down smoothing method and am thinking about giving them a try.

my questions are:

1) i know the instructions on the melvira says you can use this with non-crusting bc after its refrigerated, but does this really work well for the non-crusting? there is not much "give" on a cold smbc cake and i wonder if the roller would actually have much impact.

2) does the upside down method work for larger cakes? it seems like there might be slippage or damage trying to flip a large cake.

3. does acetate work better on upside down than parchment?

i would love to know what smbc or imbc users think of using these two methods.

thank you so much!
diane

22 replies
aswartzw Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aswartzw Posted 19 Mar 2009 , 6:02pm
post #2 of 23

No, Melvira does not work on SMBC. I think some people can get upside-down to work but not me.

I generally take a hot spatula and smooth, refrigerate, smooth. If you purchase a paint scraper that works really well (or I think that's what they're called).

tx_cupcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tx_cupcake Posted 19 Mar 2009 , 6:10pm
post #3 of 23

I agree. The best way to smooth SMBC is with a hot bench scraper.