Does Anyone Have A Part-Time Legal Decorating Business?

Business By duchess1120 Updated 8 Jul 2009 , 10:37pm by Kitagrl

duchess1120 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
duchess1120 Posted 16 Mar 2009 , 3:11pm
post #1 of 18

How did you get started as part-time (or why did you choose part-time)? Do you have a full-time job and if so how do you balance?

I want to turn my hobby into a legal part-time business so I'm just looking for ideas.

TIA

17 replies
cakelady15 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakelady15 Posted 16 Mar 2009 , 3:49pm
post #2 of 18

I own a legal cake shop. I wouldn't call it part time though. It's more like a second full time job. I work in an office Mon - Fri and then I do my caking the rest of the time when I'm not working my day job. I'm lucky that my day job is pretty flexible with my hours so if I have a big wedding or something one weekend I can take Friday off or adjust my hours through the week when needed. I still have to get in my 40 hours though so it makes it tough to do more than a few cakes a week. The decision for me to still work another job when I opened my cake shop was easy. I live by myself and had to pay my bills and I just don't have enough orders coming in to do that so I have to have another job. If you have some more specific questions about doing caking as a second job though I would be happy to answer them if I can.

duchess1120 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
duchess1120 Posted 16 Mar 2009 , 4:04pm
post #3 of 18

Wow! Sounds cool.
I am single parent and I live with my family (for now). My biggest motivation is getting my own place. I work two part-time jobs (one is temporary) and want to have a legitimate part-time cake decorating business for additional income to assist with getting my own place (plus I love decorting/being creative). I can only work at night and on Saturdays (half a day).