Thoughts About The Wedding Cake Being The Wedding Present?

Decorating By KacieMeredith Updated 10 Mar 2009 , 3:21am by KacieMeredith

KacieMeredith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KacieMeredith Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 6:57am
post #1 of 25

So my best guy friend is getting married, and I am even his groomswoman. While I love decorating cakes, its not my job, I do it for friends and family. I have yet to be paid for a cake, besides some friends or family paying for supplies, but most of the time its more or less part of my gift to them. I have been encouraged to do more but Im more worried about school right now. Sorry for rambling. My point being is what are everyones thoughts on making the cake my gift to them. With the exception of flowers, hand made or real its to expensive and/or time consuming. So if they decide they want flowers that wont be part of my gift. Im a broke colllege student and cant afford much, but my time in making and decorating the cake is relatively free. But I dont want to appear cheap or tasteless. That and if I do decide to charge them I have no idea what to charge. Please help? icon_redface.gif

24 replies
janine1972 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
janine1972 Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 7:06am
post #2 of 25

Hi there

Why not tell them that if they are willing to cover the cost of ingredients and flowers, that you will bake, decorate and set up the cake as your gift to them, this way it will cost them way way less on their cake, but get something they really want, and your preciouse time and talent is your gift to them.

I did this with a friend of mine too , she wanted to pay me for the cake, but i ended up doing the baking , decorating etc as my gift for them, so instead of them paying say for eg.(please note this is not what it cost - lol just an example) R1000-00 for it, they only paid the R500-00 or so for the ingredients - so m,y gift to them was for eg R500-00 worth (my time and talent etc) and they were thrilled with it too!!